Barrel clean

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

Pablolig

Barrel clean

#1 Postby Pablolig » Mon Oct 18, 2021 6:12 pm

Hi all,

I would like to resurface a hot topic once more. Almost like opening a can of worms.
Can people shed some light on barrel cleaning procedure for high performance barrels….
Products used, stubborn carbon removal and last, but not least; the use of abrasives (Iosso or JB bore paste)

I am relatively new to the shooting community, however I already realised how much of an issue carbon build up is.
I have a Brux in 284 Win, that I was about to toss out with 1200 rounds fired; when I thought that perhaps a good scrub with Iosso will make a difference either way…
To my surprise, I have a new barrel again!!!
The grouping might not be the best for some of the hotshots in this forum, however for me was a mighty effort.
It is 5 shots group at 150 yards.

Opinions please !!!

Happy shooting!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

John23

Re: Barrel clean

#2 Postby John23 » Mon Oct 18, 2021 7:07 pm

I am no expert on the topic .
I have tried various products , Nylon and bronze brushes .
Various engine cleaners ect.

In the end I settled for a home made solution based off the “Ed’s reds “ formula .
Essentially it’s acetone and kerosene with some dextron 3.

It is effective in the sense that it is cheap to make and cheap to use .
I use it liberty and found pretty good results .

I scrub the shit out of my barrels with 50+ strokes with a drip tray at the end of the barrel to monitor how much residual is being removed with each application of cleaning fluid .
When it’s running pretty clean I stop scrubbing and patch out .

It wasn’t until I purchased a bore scope though I learned what was really going on .