If ballistics is a science ....

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

Handbrake

If ballistics is a science ....

#1 Postby Handbrake » Wed Mar 06, 2019 8:01 pm

If ballistics is a science why is it so difficult to get consensus on issues relating to reloading?
I am a relative newbie to F Open using 6.5x47 Lapua and having bought another box of new cases checked the neck thickness which ranged from .0125 to .013. I have tried to get clear advice on whether neck turning is necessary prior to first loading, after first loading, when the differences gets to a certain percentage, not to bother as there will be minimal benefit, etc., etc.,
From what I have been able to understand so far in broad terms consistent tension and thus release is a critical component to good loads. Any thoughts?

macguru

Re: If ballistics is a science ....

#2 Postby macguru » Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:12 pm

Only simple scenarios can be explained 'precisely' by mathematical models. I say precisely in quotes because you are assuming the formula is right but all formulas are models. In physics a system of 2 bodies orbiting each other can be predicted pathwise but if you look at the solar system there are too many variables to give "exact" solutions although we do pretty well anyways. In the real world everything impinges on everything all the way to infinity...
With reloading, there are lots of variables interacting with complicated harmonics and the best we can do is vary one thing at a time and see what happens.
Variables: calibre,powder,powdercharge,primer,bulletweight,bulletshape,riflingpattern,twistrate,barrellength,barreltaper,barrelweight,casecapacity,temperature,airdensity,range etc etc
I am sure thats only about half of them :) Its a wonder we can hit the x ring at all !
id quod est

wsftr

#3 Postby wsftr » Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:09 am