Misfires

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

Willy

Misfires

#1 Postby Willy » Mon Jul 06, 2020 8:52 pm

Hi everyone,
I'm just starting out in F Class, I was shooting on Saturday and had a few misfires. I pulled the cartridges apart and two were obviously errors by the dimwit who loaded them (I don't want to talk about it) , but two were primers that didn't ignite. I'm sporting a 308 sportco 44 (AKA Omark, I believe). The primers are a little old, about 5 years, but the indentation from the firing pin seemed much shallower than on the rounds that fired normally. Does anyone have any insight on the matter? I have purchase new primers and ditched the old ones already, but am considering the possibility that it is my rifle. Any advice would be appreciated.
IMG_20200706_172916513.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

John23

Re: Misfires

#2 Postby John23 » Mon Jul 06, 2020 9:42 pm

Have you pulled the bolt apart and cleaned the firing pin and bolt body of debris that might be fouling ?

lonerider43

#3 Postby lonerider43 » Mon Jul 06, 2020 10:09 pm

if all else seems ok,replace the firing pin spring.
if its an old rifle [used alot before you] replace it anyway.easy to do.
Australian's Against "Gun-A-Phobia"

KHGS

#4 Postby KHGS » Mon Jul 06, 2020 11:13 pm

Omarks suffer from weak ignition at the best of times. Have your firing pin protrusion checked, replace the spring and if you have an adaptor and aftermarket trigger fitted have the firing pin fall checked. Make sure your primer pockets are cleaned and the primers seated against the bottom of the pocket.
Keith H.

6.5x55ai

#5 Postby 6.5x55ai » Tue Jul 07, 2020 6:34 am

Decock the striker by twisting it. Then if you can recock it by hand (assuming average strength) the main spring has weakened.

As a matter of course I always de-cock my bolts when not in use.