KM Arbor Press Force Indicator

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

chinga

KM Arbor Press Force Indicator

#1 Postby chinga » Thu Oct 22, 2020 10:27 am

Hi
Im quite new to the sport and looking for some information on the KM arbor press force indicator.
Im using 308 bullets with 2 thou neck tension.
Do i need to use the low force indicator or the standard indicator with the press?
Also what are peoples thoughts on using the arbor press to seat bullets and sort them in seating pressure. Im currently using a standard Redding Seating die in my press.
Thanks in advance

johnk

Re: KM Arbor Press Force Indicator

#2 Postby johnk » Thu Oct 22, 2020 2:13 pm

Way back now, I corresponded with a gut who designed a jig to measure unseating pressure. He figured that it might be more pertinent to seating.

RDavies

#3 Postby RDavies » Thu Oct 22, 2020 9:12 pm

I do have a K&M seater with the force dial but it doesn't get used very much. I found the springs were too weak for seating 7mm bullets, but does work well enough with 6mm bullets which are slightly easier to seat. I usually prefer a regular press now as I neck turn and anneal pretty much everything. Unless these presses are now coming with firmer springs, I dont think the will work so well with a 303 bullet.

Gyro

#4 Postby Gyro » Thu Oct 22, 2020 9:14 pm

Just some loose general advice for ya mate re this type of measuring and it's effect on your groups : I would consider it way down in importance. Yes it may help, as with MANY other small things a shooter can do but if you say spent a relatively small amount of money on a bore scope like a "Teslong" ( $50US ) so you could keep an eye on your cleaning regime and what is happening in your guns bore then that would help you a hell of a lot more.
It's a matter of working through what is most important to be focussing on ......

Rich4

#5 Postby Rich4 » Thu Oct 22, 2020 10:48 pm