Beginners scope suggestions

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

GosHawk

Beginners scope suggestions

#1 Postby GosHawk » Sat Oct 24, 2020 10:57 am

Hi All,

Looking for some advise on what scope to get (I'm sure you all hear this a lot). I'm just a beginner (primarily been a hunter for past 30 years) and will be shooting primarily under 600 yards with a heavy barrel HOWA in 6.5creed.

I was considering either:

Sightron Siii 10-50x60
Sightron Siii 8-32x56, or
Sightron Siii 45x45 with ED glass

All of these choices range around $1500 to $1800 which is about the limit of my budget at the moment.

Are there any other I should consider?

Thanks,
Justin

Tim L

Re: Beginners scope suggestions

#2 Postby Tim L » Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:20 pm

There are many contenders and all 3 you mention will do the job
For what it's worth I started with an Siii 10-50 and I still use it.
One decision you do need to consider (just as important as the scope) is what reticule you want.
Simple dot, plain crosshair or one of the multitude of other options.

GosHawk

#3 Postby GosHawk » Sat Oct 24, 2020 12:58 pm

Tim L wrote:There are many contenders and all 3 you mention will do the job
One decision you do need to consider (just as important as the scope) is what reticule you want.

Hi Tim,
How is the scope at maximum magnification? Clear? how far out could you see holes in targets? I have read somewhere that non ED glass scopes start to struggle past x30 magnification, not sure how true this is.
Also, what reticule would you suggest? I was planning on just getting a fine crosshair version as I haven't had much experience using hash marks, I do like the 2-MOA version as it has a floating dot in the centre of the reticule.

Thanks

AlanF

#4 Postby AlanF » Sat Oct 24, 2020 1:08 pm