low power leupold

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

Madracer

low power leupold

#1 Postby Madracer » Fri May 16, 2008 8:37 pm

after looking through various f class forums i have never seen mention of the leupold fx3 12x40 as a scope for f class use, i have never understood this as i was highly recommended it for when i started shooting, i use it with a leupold dot and im happy with it from 300 to 1000yds, the dot fits inside the center scoring ring so its easy to aim, mirage doesnt affect it really. and its easy to hold of onto the center ring (.5 moa) or the 5 ring (1 moa). you can buy it for $600us off an american web site so it is also cheap.

after all that i highly recomend it as a brilliant starting scope.

so really im asking why have i never heard it recommended? the only reason is possibly magnification but i dont see the problem with that because 12x is useable.

by the way i shoot in nz with a standard omark.

AlanF

#2 Postby AlanF » Fri May 16, 2008 9:13 pm

Scopes tend be a personal preference thing. Some of the top shooters leave their NFs at 42X in any conditions. Occasionally I turn my 6.5-20 down to about 12X for heavy mirage. In good conditions, most will use the highest magnification they have, and once you've been "spoilt", its hard to change to a scope with less magnificaton. Its a little like computer or TV screens :D ....

Alan

Woody_rod

#3 Postby Woody_rod » Fri May 23, 2008 7:05 pm

From recent experience in F class rifles, and putting scopes on them for people, I found that the std T series weaver was popular, and works nicely.

On the other hand, our club rifle now has a new Chinese BSA scope 6 - 24 x 44mm, with std hunting reticle. My wife has been shooting 116s lately when the wind is not too bad, so it obviously works. Jury is out on how long it will keep a zero, but is doing very well so far. Total cost, AU$160 with postage.