Scope operation - to wind or aim off

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

bartman007

Scope operation - to wind or aim off

#1 Postby bartman007 » Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:20 pm

I have been using a scope for a few years now. And have been happily winding it back and forth with the wind changes.

However, one day, in the middle of a Queens event, my scope decided to bind up when winding to the right. The clue was 2 inner 4's (for sighters) on the right, even after winding 2.25 MOA to the left after the first sighter, then another 1 MOA to the left (second sighter) after just missing the bull line. With very little wind change at that time, and considering I was generally saving my sighters on most ranges, I was concerned throughout that shoot, and consequently lost points on that range!

After that shoot I tested it, and it traveled perfectly from zero to the left, but once I got close to the zero, it slowed then stopped moving to the right!

I have been happy winding over the years, as that is how I used to shoot in TR. Considering the lesser amount of movement that we do in Open class, is the small constant 1/8 movements causing excessive wear on the scope turrets? Is there lubrication inside the scope that is getting pushed away from the zero point, thus causing dry area's on the track?

Without giving away the brand (>$1000 scope), should this be happening?

Maybe I have to start aiming off, to take it easy on the poor expensive scope???

Or have a maintenance regime where I traverse the scope from left to right once per month, to even out any lubrication that may be present inside the scope?

Any suggestions greatly accepted, but don't tell me to get a March....please.

ecomeat

Re: Scope operation - to wind or aim off

#2 Postby ecomeat » Tue Mar 26, 2013 3:22 pm

bartman007 wrote:Any suggestions greatly accepted, but don't tell me to get a March....please.