When to trim .284 cases

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

ecomeat

When to trim .284 cases

#1 Postby ecomeat » Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:50 pm

Hoping for some professional opinions regarding if and when I should trim new 284 Win cases that I just necked up from 6.5mm.

New Lapua cases are very even at 2.160" . Not the 2.159" that IanP measured. Technique ?
Necked up to .270 (stage 1) they are 2.155" (virtually 100%)
Necked up to 284, i put the calipers on 200 :

2 only are "short" at 2.1505
157 are 2.151
38 are "maybe's" at 2.152
3 only are "long" at 2.153

I trashed 6 dud cases (from an earlier, initial 300) getting my Wilson/Sinclair micrometer trimmer set to trim to 2.151".
I cant help thinking that there is probably at least 1 thou "flex" in any micrometer......even a good one like the Sidchrome that I used to measure these. I am a cattle farmer, not a laboratory technician, and no matter how hard I try, i get different reading from Calipers. (Dont have the same problem miking case necks.....different mechanism)

It surely wouldnt be worth trying to trim everything to 2.1505 .....almost 0.010 short of the published "Trim to" length....and there is only 2 ? Would it ?

Is it basically a waste of time trying to trim everything to 2.151" ?
Or will that 0.001 make enough difference to "consistency" of shot release, that I should try to make 198 (157 + 38 + 3)

Or should I just shoot the bloody things, and maybe trim later if they get apart by........0.005" ? or 0.010"?

Bottom line ..........how do you F Classers define "close enough" with your own cases ? Should I trim at this stage , or if you were me....would you trim ?
Many thanks in anticipation !
Tony
Extreme accuracy and precision shooting at long range can be a very addictive pastime.

AlanF

#2 Postby AlanF » Sun Feb 24, 2013 6:07 am

Tony,