7mm WSM some thoughts please

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

MCLE

7mm WSM some thoughts please

#1 Postby MCLE » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:26 pm

I am thinking of 7mm WSM for a little bit of Fclass and longrange steel gongs have some of you had some experience with it and what are your thoughts please.I was thinking of a 7mm RM but was told that the WSM will do the same job but a little better to live with.Thanks

Paul Janzso

#2 Postby Paul Janzso » Sat Mar 02, 2013 7:21 am

A lot of F Class open shooters have gone with the 7MM RSAUM and had very good results.I have also.
I have had no experience with the 7 MM WSM chambering but it is reputed to be a barrel burner but you could shoot it for 500 rounds then re chamber and go again until you run out of barrel. If you went with the chambering it would be a matter of keeping an eye on throat erosion and changing your bullet seating as the throat erodes.
Have you thought about the 300 WSM ? I got 1800 rounds out of my barrel and had it cut back and re chambered.
Back to the 7mm, a guy in the UK used the 7MM WSM case and reformed it with a longer neck, I'm not sure what he did to the shoulder angle, what he gained I'm not sure. You could search " accurate shooter" for the article for more info on that chambering.
If you go down the 7MM WSM path, I recommend you get your own reamer and gauges.

Cheers
Paul

PS there is nothing wrong with the 7mm Rem Mag
Time's a wasted wot's not spent shooti'n BARNARD 300WSM's

Brad Y

#3 Postby Brad Y » Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:08 pm

If its only for a little bit of F Class, I dont see why a straight 284W wouldnt work. Plenty of information on them so getting one to work might be easier.

BATattack

#4 Postby BATattack » Sun Mar 03, 2013 9:39 am

have a look at this as it may help making a decisions a lot easier.
http://www.6mmbr.com/7mm284.html