Turned Necks

Get or give advice on equipment, reloading and other technical issues.

Moderator: Mod

johnk

Turned Necks

#1 Postby johnk » Tue Feb 11, 2014 10:21 pm

OK, I admit I'm a novice here, my first ever turned neck chambering. Gylsie has built me a .334" neck on my .30/284 & told me to turn for .3315" -.0005", and that's about what my loaded rounds are going, if you can trust the Polish metric micrometer that came off that Greek tanker that spilled its guts on the WA coast in the mid nineties - but that's another story - and my metric/imperial conversion software. I managed to prep up the Lapua brass that Nioa replaced for me & ran the neck turn into the shoulder just enough so I have a crush fit on the unfired brass, which is dropping out of the chamber without fuss & will rechamber like they've come straight out of the sizer. All good so far.

However, fired cases don't accept a projectile, which doesn't necessarily surprise me with case necks going only .011" or so & around three thou wriggle room, but apart from suck it & see, how the heck do you decide what size bushing to run over them to prep? I'm molying & have always found a bit of jump works for that scenario with my other chamberings, so soft seating isn't on my agenda at the moment.

Suggestions, please.

PS: The Wilson micrometer seating die I bought has the usual close tolerances of that manufacturer, but I was surprised to find a degree of variation in base diameter of the new brass. Some entered the die easily & some were varying degrees of snug fit, to the degree that I had to use a suitable tool to extract the worst of them. If you have the same problem, a traditional beverage can piercer of the punch formed sheet metal persuasion has all the necessary dimensional characteristics for painless & mar free extraction.

AlanF

#2 Postby AlanF » Wed Feb 12, 2014 6:42 am

John,